

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ORANGE COUNTY SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT NEWS RELEASE

SHERIFF-CORONER DON BARNES

Public Information Officer, Sergeant Todd Hylton

THylton@OCSheriff.gov | C: 714-904-7042

Child Passenger Safety Week is September 19-25

SANTA ANA, Ca. (September 19, 2021): As part of Child Passenger Safety Week, the Orange County Sheriff's Department wants to make sure your child is in the right child safety seat.

Child Passenger Safety Week is September 19-25 and focuses on educating parents and caregivers about the importance of choosing, installing, and using the correct car seat.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death among children, and nearly half of car seats (46%) are misused.

California law requires a child to be properly secured in a safety seat until they are at least 8 years of age. Children 8 and older, who are at least 4 feet, 9 inches in height, may ride in the back seat of a vehicle in a properly fitted safety belt. Children under the age of 2 must ride rear-facing or until they reach 40 pounds or 40 inches in height.

To search for car seat programs in your county, the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) has a dropdown menu on the <u>OTS website</u>. You may also contact your <u>local CHP Area Office</u> to schedule a free safety seat inspection.

Funding for this program is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.





###