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Californians Encouraged to Always Wear Their Seat Belt 
“Click it or Ticket” Seat Belt Safety Campaign Runs Through Memorial Day 

 
SANTA ANA Ca, (May 19, 2022): The Orange County Sheriff’s Department reminds everyone 
taking a trip to visit friends or family over the Memorial Day Weekend to always buckle up and 
keep children in child safety seats. 
 
This year’s Click it or Ticket campaign is from May 23-June 5. During this time, the Sheriff’s 
Department will have additional deputies on patrol actively looking for drivers and passengers 
who are not wearing a seat belt. This includes vehicles where children are not secured in child 
safety seats. 
 
“Wearing a seat belt should be an automatic for all drivers and passengers,” said OC Sheriff 
Sgt. John Hopkins. “It’s the safe thing to do, especially when it comes to securing children in 
child safety seats.” 
 
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 10,893 people killed 
in crashes throughout the country in 2020 were not wearing seat belts. In California, 756 people 
killed in crashes in 2020 were not wearing seat belts, or nearly 20 percent of all traffic deaths in 
the state. 
 
California law requires a child to be secured in a safety or booster seat until they are at least 8 
or at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall. Children under the age of 2 must ride in a rear-facing seat unless 
the child weighs 40 or more pounds or is 40 or more inches tall.  
 
California has a primary seat belt law, which allows law enforcement officers to ticket someone 
for not wearing a seat belt without committing another traffic violation. 
 
Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, 
through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.  
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