
   

Date: October 24th through November 4th, 2022

Time: 8:00 am to 5:00 pm 

Location: California Coroner Training Center

1071 W. Santa Ana Blvd.

 Santa Ana, CA 92703 

Prerequisite: Employed as full time Peace Officer with death investigation 

responsibilities. Complete and Submit student Prerequisite 

Worksheet which will be provided upon receiving student 

registration.  

Parking is available at 1020 West Civic Center Drive in the Stadium Structure. The Training Center does not validate 
parking so please budget accordingly.  

Local Hotel Accommodation: Mention California Coroner Training Center Course to receive preferred rate:

$120+occupancy tax. This include Breakfast, WIFI and Parking.

Ayers Hotel  ( Preferred Location) 
200 N. The City Drive, Orange   
714-919-7940

Group Name: 80 Hour Course – OC Coroner
https://reservations.travelclick.com/131335?
groupID=3243908

For further information please contact California Coroner Training Coordinator @ 

Coroner_Training@ocshereiff.gov or visit Orange County Sheriff’s Department website at OCSHERIFF.gov

Training Bulletin 

California Coroner Training Center 

Orange County Sheriff-Coroner Department  

BASIC DEATH INVESTIGATION 80 HOURS COURSE 

POST control number: 2060-31200-22-001

CSCA ADVANCED SYMPOSIUM FOR CORONERS

The Basic Death Investigation Course is designed to develop the death investigation knowledge 
and skills of newly hired Deputy Coroner and Medical Examiner investigators and all Deputy Sheriff 
Personnel with Coroner responsibilities. The full course provides 80 hours of education in Role of 
the  Death Investigation, Death Notification, Infant Death Investigation, Public Administrator, Report 
Writing, Coroner Laws, Basic Human Anatomy, Time of Death, Pathology, Disaster Management, 
Media Relations, Psychological Autopsy and Profiling, Critical Incident Stress management, Fire 
Death Investigations & explosives, Asphyxial Deaths, Unusual Forensic Case, Toxicology, 
Firearms, Forensic Dentistry, Blood Splatter Interpretation, Drugs, and Court Room Testimony.  

California POST requires Peace Officer Death Investigators who fall under Penal Code section 83 
0.35 c) to complete the 80 hours of training with in the first 12 months of their date of appointment. 
Peace Officer Death Investigators who fall within Penal Code section 830.1 are strongly 
encouraged to complete this course.  LAPTOP AND PROPERLY FITTED PPE MASK ARE 
REQUIRED FOR THIS COURSE.  
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